Hogwarts Legacy: How to Choose Houses

Every Harry Potter fan has an allegiance to one of the sorcery school’s four main houses, and it makes sense that you’d want to pick the right one in Hogwarts Legacy. Of course, that’s technically a job for the Sorting Hat, but the pointy deliberator’s decision isn’t as final as it is elsewhere in the Potter-verse. Here’s how to choose houses in Hogwarts Legacy.

Can You Choose Your House in Hogwarts Legacy?

The short answer is yes, you can choose your own House in Hogwarts Legacy. The Sorting Ceremony occurs near the end of the Hogwarts Legacy prologue. Here, in the Great Hall, the Sorting Hat asks you several questions, and the choices you make determine which house you’ll join. Kind of.

I’ll get to that “kind of” bit shortly, because you can actually pick your house, but here are the Sorting Hat Quiz questions and answers.

Hogwarts Sorting Hat Quiz: Questions and Answers

Image by GameSkinny

  • Question: You come here with preferences and preconceptions — certain expectations: 
    • Answer: It doesn’t matter which answer you choose for the first response:
      • I can’t wait to start classes
      • I can’t wait to explore
  • Question: Hmm. I wonder. Hmm. I detect something in you. A certain sense of — hmm — what is it?
    • Answers
      • Daring = Gryffindor
      • Curiosity = Ravenclaw
      • Loyalty = Hufflepuff
      • Ambition = Slytherin

The good news is this: you aren’t locked into the house the Sorting Hat thinks you’re right for. There is no wrong answer in the Sorting Hat Quiz. While the answers you give mean the Sorting Hat will suggest a house for you, you do not have to choose that specific house when it appears on the screen. 

How to Choose a Different House During the Sorting Hat Ceremony

Image by GameSkinny

On the screen with the Sorting Hat and your suggested house crest, simply select “Choose a Different House” (Square on PlayStation and X on Xbox) to be presented with all of the house options. Select one, then choose “Confirm.” You’ll get The Sort Who Makes an Entrance trophy or achievement for completing the Sorting Ceremony Quiz.

As a related sidebar, there are four other trophies and achievements tangentially associated with your house choice that appear later in the game. For them, you have to reach the Map Chamber in a later quest as a member of each house (Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw, and Slytherin), which does require a bit of mindless grinding if you’re a trophy or achievement hunter. 

Can You Change Houses After You’ve Chosen?

Unfortunately, the answer to whether you can change your house after you’ve chosen it in the Sorting Ceremony is no, you can’t. Once you’ve picked a House by following the above (going through the Ceremony and choosing to Confirm your House), you won’t be able to change Houses for the rest of the game.

You’ll have to start a new character and go through the prologue again if you want to switch between Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin.

What are the House Differences in Hogwarts Legacy?

Ultimately, the House you choose depends on your personality. There is no “right or wrong” answer. Each House has a specific common room you’ll be able to visit and, true to the Wizarding World, a specific clothing color set that you’ll be able to wear. You won’t be able to visit the other common rooms or wear the other general house robes.

Certain NPCs will appear more often in common rooms (though they can be found elsewhere in Hogwarts if you choose a different House than them), and there is a subquest for Hufflepuff that takes you to Azkaban. But the main story remains relatively the same, save some very minor differences. For example, a cutscene shows your character solving a riddle to enter Ravenclaw for the first time, something you won’t see with the other Houses. 

Here’s a quick breakdown of each House, including the NPCs you’ll meet, each House’s robe colors, and screenshots of their common rooms.

Image by GameSkinny

  • Gryffindor: Known for daring, bravery, and chivalry.
    • House Robe Colors: Red and Gold. 
    • House NPCs: Garreth Weasley, Nellie Oggspire, Cressida Blume.

Image by GameSkinny

  • Hufflepuff: Known for patience, loyalty, and hard work.
    • House Robe Colors: Yellow and Black. 
    • House NPCs: Adelaide Oakes, Arthur Plummly, Lenora Everleigh.
    • House Quest: Azkaban.

Image by GameSkinny

  • Ravenclaw: Known for intelligence, creativity, and wit. 
    • House Robe Colors: Blue and Bronze.
    • House NPCs: Everett Clopton, Amit Thakkar, Samantha Dale.

Image by GameSkinny

  • Slytherin: Known for cunning, ambition, and a hunger for power. 
    • House Colors: Green and Silver.
    • House NPCs: Sebastian Sallow, Imelda Reyes, Ominis Gaunt.

That’s essentially what you need to know about the Sorting Hat Ceremony and how to choose houses in Hogwarts Legacy. Of course, you can always take one of the many (many) Sorting Quizzes found across the internet or over at the official Harry Potter fan club before playing WB’s open-world RPG to get an idea of the best fit; some of those ask more in-depth questions. For more guides and tips, head over to our Hogwarts Legacy help page

Featured image by GameSkinny

Source link

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments